1. Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

    We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

    Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

    free hit counter
  2. Want to buy your boat a Christmas gift? How about some Cobra Jet Steering? From now until Dec 31 Jeff is offering forum members all Cobra Jet Steering 20% off!!!!!

    Please send a PM(converstation message to @Cobra Jet Steering LLC) or email jeff@cobrajetsteering.com to place orders or for questions about a particular product, please list the make, model and year of your boat " year is last 2 digits of hull number", also the state you reside in or the state you want it shipped to . Offer Not valid in combination with other offers or discounts, subject to availability of inventory. AND Free shipping in the U S A.

    You can dismiss this notice (if you are a member) by clicking the "X" in the upper right>>>>>>>>>

    Dismiss Notice

JL AMP Troubles....

Discussion in 'Electronics-Stereo/GPS/Chartplotter/Electrical etc' started by Murf'n'surf, Dec 6, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Murf'n'surf

    Murf'n'surf Jetboaters Admiral Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    5,799
    Location:
    Naples Florida
    Ratings:
    +4,122 / 28
    Boat Make:
    Yamaha
    Year:
    2005
    Boat Model:
    SX
    Boat Length:
    23
    I have a JL M6450 that will not turn on. There is 13V at the amp. The remote wire triggers 5V. Heres the wacky part, when the remote wire is activated the volts drop to 5.XX on the power feed.

    Batteries passed a load test and the sub amp turns on just fine on same battery and same remote wire.

    Bad amp? I had another identical amp and it does the same thing, thats why I am scratching my head! What are the chances 2 amps have the same issue?

    @David Analog
    @Earmark Marine --- got your website up and ready to order a new one if that is what I need
     
  2. Drift Away

    Drift Away Jet Boat Junkie

    Messages:
    565
    Location:
    34689
    Ratings:
    +826 / 13
    Boat Make:
    Yamaha
    Year:
    2016
    Boat Model:
    SX
    Boat Length:
    24
    Is this the first time your hooking up that amp? Might have a short in the remote wire or something Internal inyour head unit
     
  3. Murf'n'surf

    Murf'n'surf Jetboaters Admiral Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    5,799
    Location:
    Naples Florida
    Ratings:
    +4,122 / 28
    Boat Make:
    Yamaha
    Year:
    2005
    Boat Model:
    SX
    Boat Length:
    23
    Amp has been flawless since 2008. Sub amp triggers fine.
     
  4. subysti

    subysti Jet Boat Addict

    Messages:
    941
    Location:
    east Longmeadow Mass
    Ratings:
    +685 / 2
    Boat Make:
    Yamaha
    Year:
    2015
    Boat Model:
    AR
    Boat Length:
    24
    Thinking bad battery and amps drawing too much. Looks like just a surface charge on the battery.
     
  5. CraigAR

    CraigAR Jet Boat Addict

    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Cape coral, Fl
    Ratings:
    +326 / 2
    Boat Make:
    Yamaha
    Year:
    2017
    Boat Model:
    AR
    Boat Length:
    24
    Double check the input and output on the remote wire and also the ground wire on the amp that's not turning on and double check the amps fuses
     
  6. BBottoms

    BBottoms Active Member

    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Buffalo, KY
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0
    Boat Make:
    Yamaha
    Year:
    2015
    Boat Model:
    AR
    Boat Length:
    24
    If the power feed drops to 5 volts when the remote is activated you either have a bad battery or a severely compromised power or ground wire or bad connection at the battery or some other connection. Check the voltage at the battery posts when you activate the remote. If its 5v there then it’s a bad battery. If its 13v at the battery posts then you’ve got a bad power or ground wire/fuse/connection somewhere.
     
  7. Mainah

    Mainah Jetboaters Lieutenant

    Messages:
    1,295
    Location:
    Chapin, SC
    Ratings:
    +1,342 / 8
    Boat Make:
    Yamaha
    Year:
    2016
    Boat Model:
    Limited S
    Boat Length:
    24
    Given that the batteries pass a load test amd another amp os operating just fine ...

    Start by turning the batteries off. Check all connections to the amp including the remote wire connections. Turn batteries back on and see if it works. If not (edit turn off batteries before you do this) disconnect and wire cap the remote wire to the amp. Use a small 16-18 awg wire to jump the +12v and remote teminals at the amp keeping the power wire in the +12v in its terminal too. Turn on the batteries and and see if it works. If it works by jumping the power to the remote terminal then the issue is with the remote from the head unit in some way.
     
  8. Murf'n'surf

    Murf'n'surf Jetboaters Admiral Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    5,799
    Location:
    Naples Florida
    Ratings:
    +4,122 / 28
    Boat Make:
    Yamaha
    Year:
    2005
    Boat Model:
    SX
    Boat Length:
    23
    I removed the amp and used a power supply and the amp turns on. Hmmm.
    I’ve used the remote wire from the sub amp and same issue.
    I will try jumping the positive to the remote and see if that works — thats How I got it to turn on when testing with the power supply.
    There’s no visible corrosion anywhere — it all looks top notch.

    I do see a VSR with a red light on, not sure if that’s normal or even upstream of these amps. You would think the VSR would effect both amps if it were upstream.
    Gawd I hate electrical gremlins!
     
  9. Bruce

    Bruce Jetboaters Fleet Admiral Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    9,747
    Location:
    Royal, AR
    Ratings:
    +8,816 / 49
    Boat Make:
    Yamaha
    Year:
    2007
    Boat Model:
    SX
    Boat Length:
    23
    I suspect an issue with the ground. If it is unable to carry a load you would see that kind of drop when the amp powered on.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. veedubtek

    veedubtek Jetboaters Captain

    Messages:
    1,798
    Location:
    Lexington, NC
    Ratings:
    +2,429 / 35
    Boat Make:
    Yamaha
    Year:
    2016
    Boat Model:
    FSH
    Boat Length:
    19
    Voltage drop test. Youtube it. Learn it. Live it. Love it. Very simple and it doesn't lie.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Murf'n'surf

    Murf'n'surf Jetboaters Admiral Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    5,799
    Location:
    Naples Florida
    Ratings:
    +4,122 / 28
    Boat Make:
    Yamaha
    Year:
    2005
    Boat Model:
    SX
    Boat Length:
    23
    I’ll be upside down in the bilges on Saturday! My lower back can’t wait!!
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
  12. Jgorm

    Jgorm Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    San Diego / Colorado river
    Ratings:
    +83 / 10
    Boat Make:
    Yamaha
    Year:
    2004
    Boat Model:
    AR
    Boat Length:
    23
    I thought the turn on lead was 12v? No? Other amps I've had were 12v. You could jumper the per feed to the turn on for testing. Might be a bad deck with apoor 12v supply, or a bad ground causing excessive current.
     
  13. txav8r

    txav8r Jetboaters Admiral Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    6,425
    Location:
    Lake Ray Roberts, Texas
    Ratings:
    +2,994 / 22
    Boat Make:
    Boatless
    Year:
    NA
    Boat Model:
    Other
    Boat Length:
    NA
    OUCH!

    You can call Earmark and ask for Odin Mattes but anyone there knows those amps inside out. He is in Plano, TX, (972) 612-6886
    My guess is a ground or corrosion/loose connection, if the batteries are good.
     
  14. Murf'n'surf

    Murf'n'surf Jetboaters Admiral Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    5,799
    Location:
    Naples Florida
    Ratings:
    +4,122 / 28
    Boat Make:
    Yamaha
    Year:
    2005
    Boat Model:
    SX
    Boat Length:
    23
    Thanks Mel!

    There is some other wacky stuff happening on this boat (bow thruster) so it’s pointing towards a grounding issue. I hope.
     
  15. robert843

    robert843 Jetboaters Admiral

    Messages:
    2,943
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Ratings:
    +3,211 / 35
    Boat Make:
    Yamaha
    Year:
    2017
    Boat Model:
    AR
    Boat Length:
    24
    Your 2005 SX230 has bow thrusters where is the write up on that mod :winkingthumbsup"
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  16. Murf'n'surf

    Murf'n'surf Jetboaters Admiral Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    5,799
    Location:
    Naples Florida
    Ratings:
    +4,122 / 28
    Boat Make:
    Yamaha
    Year:
    2005
    Boat Model:
    SX
    Boat Length:
    23
    LOL -- this would be my 323 Intrepid
     
  17. adrianp89

    adrianp89 Active Member

    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Ratings:
    +63 / 3
    Boat Make:
    Yamaha
    Year:
    2017
    Boat Model:
    SX
    Boat Length:
    21
    5v will not turn on an amplifier in most cases. Take a fresh wire, jump it from the 12v+ on the amp to the remote turn on - if it turns on, then either remote wire or output from HU... pretty easy to figure this one out.
     
  18. Murf'n'surf

    Murf'n'surf Jetboaters Admiral Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    5,799
    Location:
    Naples Florida
    Ratings:
    +4,122 / 28
    Boat Make:
    Yamaha
    Year:
    2005
    Boat Model:
    SX
    Boat Length:
    23
    I typed that out wrong -- It is getting 12v on the remote wire.
     
  19. adrianp89

    adrianp89 Active Member

    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Ratings:
    +63 / 3
    Boat Make:
    Yamaha
    Year:
    2017
    Boat Model:
    SX
    Boat Length:
    21
    If you are getting 12v across the amp - and it is not turning on - then there is an issue with the amp.

    But it turns on with power supply. I would double check your voltages in the boat.
     
  20. Murf'n'surf

    Murf'n'surf Jetboaters Admiral Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    5,799
    Location:
    Naples Florida
    Ratings:
    +4,122 / 28
    Boat Make:
    Yamaha
    Year:
    2005
    Boat Model:
    SX
    Boat Length:
    23
    You see it??????
    13E443DB-F8E7-4BB5-9811-57728211C2E8.jpeg

    Yeah....me neither....took a long #^*#ing time to track it down.

    Bad ground found and resolved. All good now.

    Thanks for your help guys!
     
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page