• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

New Scarab 165ID owner ...having problems already

Krokoscarab

Reaction score
Boat Make
Scarab
Year
Boat Model
165 ID
Boat Length
Hi, My name is Dan and I am new to jetboats. I have just purchased Scarab HO 165 ID 2018 with 40 hours on the clock. I had it on the water about 10 times now. Never a problem, except last time I was out the boat would not start initially...three attempts and it went finally. Today, after about three weeks of sitting in the storage the boat would not start again...battery is full, gauges work, fuel pump is making noise, but no starter when you turn the key. I checked the fuses, connections etc. All seem fine. I put two cables to the starter contacts directly from a battery to test the starter... no sound or movement. Does it pretty much mean the starter died? I am also amazed to see the starter just hanging on the bottom of the motor, where the water always swooshing around... any pointers or anything else I should check before buying a new starter? The boat out of warranty, so I will be working on it myself more likely. Thank you for any info. Dan

Luc Lafreniere

Jetboaters Captain
Staff member
Scarab Forum Lead
Reaction score
Boat Make
Scarab
Year
Boat Model
165 G
Boat Length