• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Newbie wonders... single engine vs twin?

MiamiTech

Reaction score
Boat Make
Other
Year
NA
Boat Model
Other
Boat Length
Other
Hi All,

I'm new to Jet Boats and about to pull the trigger on a new Yamaha, but can't decide which model to go with...

I live on the intracoastal in the north Miami area (recently moved in) and mostly new to boats. I've owned PWCs (Yamahas which were really well made) but always enjoyed other people's boats and never had my own. I'm looking to buy a Jet Boat very soon.

MY QUESTION...

Is there a major advantage going from a single engine platform like the Yamaha 190/195 series to a twin engine setup like the 210/212s?

Is the performance a lot different due to the twin engines? So I assume the acceleration is much faster? Does the boat itself handle a lot differently?

The difference in hull length is under 2 feet in total length, yet the price difference is pretty significant. Just wondering WHY so many would prefer the 210/212's over the 19 footers which are a lot cheaper?

I'm not into wake surfing at the moment but would like to keep the option open for the future. Would a twin engine 21-footer make for a much better wake surf boat than a singe engine 19-footer?