• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Ok, What are my chances on cleaning up salt plugged block coolant passages?

BrentEB

Jet Boat Addict
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
SX
Boat Length
I've been fighting an engine overheat problem for a couple months now. All the usual washes, ect, really didn't do a thing. Dropped the exhaust manifold and the only plug is in the engine block. MR1 110hp. Pulled the anode assembly, completely plugged with salt. Geez. I've rigged a "drill" from 3/32" vinyl coated multistrand wire stripped at the end that seems to get in there. 12" length now, but going up as it pretty easily goes through the salt. Just started that today.

This was not a "neglect" problem as I washed on the hose after each outing. I attribute it to the "hose" flush design - there is not enough water pressure to get through the check valve for a good block flush because of leak back through the normal inlet. I have manual valves to close off that leakage for hose flushes NOW.

If I get a flow established versus a dead head I think the problem will be licked. What does experience say? Do I have a chance?

Beachbummer

Jetboaters Admiral
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
SX
Boat Length
Others have succeeded. No reason to think otherwise for yourself.