• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Sugar Sand Tango 1998 175 Merc xr2

ToesintheSand

Jet Boat Addict
Reaction score
Boat Make
Sugar Sand
Year
Boat Model
Limited
Boat Length
Hello to all! Newbie here, both too jetboats and the site. Hoping for some insight and ideas on my problem. Also hoping to find a member(from the old forum or another forum that guided me here?) called csm1992 as he had the same issue on his Tango.
Anyway, I took the boat out last Saturday and she ran great all day. No issues at all. I took it out Sunday and all was well until after I dropped my kids off at boat launch. We went back out and within minutes, she started bogging just off idle. We could run WOT and idle but zero mid range.....just kept stalling. Started right back up each time and would repeat the same problem. It seems like it would be a clogged needle jet problem, but my experience on this carb/motor is zero. I am familiar with dirtbike/quad two strokes and your basic Keihin carbs and have rebuilt many. I really can't think of anything else that effects mid range ONLY, unless a passageway is blocked.......
For now I am going to use some carb cleaner and some seafoam and take it too the lake to sse what happens.

JC6275

Jetboaters Admiral
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
LS
Boat Length