• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Tips for drivers

RiverRatSx210

Jet Boat Lover
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
SX
Boat Length
so I’ve tried to search multiple times and all that comes up is tips for first time riders.. which I also need- but I am also a first time driver pulling up a surfer, should also mention I DO NOT have a tower. I know it’s going to difficult for any one getting up without the tower. My dad and I both tried last weekend but the water was too cold and neither one of us got up. Partly due to not really watching any videos and just giving it a go. I have only pulled a skier behind my boat once, and a wakeboarder behind a friends malibu once. We played with the throttle attempting to pull each other up slower and faster, but really didn’t spend more than a few attempts each (Columbia river way too cold)

Our next time out we are going to be tying off to surf side cleat and shortening our rope around 10-15ft.

What are some tips you can give as a driver? I know my speed should fall around 10mph +\- 1-3 depending on ballast board yatta yatta.. but how much throttle when pulling someone up?

I am 6’2” 290lbs and my dad is 5’10” 220ish, we are using a liquid force fish 5’6” board.

Thanks for any advice you can give, this site as been very helpful!