• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

To Foil or Not to Foil...

RiverRat86

Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
AR
Boat Length
Hello all, new owner of a 2020 AR 190. I've been surfing behind a friend's wakeboard boat now for 5+ years. Now that I have a boat I'm trying to decide what route to go....spend the money on ballasts, wakebooster, etc. to be able to surf or get into wake foiling. It looks really fun and I love a new challenge. My question, could I foil surf (ropeless) without all the ballasts? If so, a foil board ($1,000+) looks like it would be about the same price as all the ballasts and gear I would need to surf.

J-RAD

Jetboaters Admiral
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
AR
Boat Length
I'm a little but bias of an ovum on this topic. Mostly because I'm a Slingshot dealer who'd live to sell you a foil... lol!

The answer is absolutely you can learn to surf the wake of your 190. There would be a learning curve to getting there, but you'll have a great time along the way. Guys are able to surf waverunner wakes.