• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Winterize

Willbvt

Jet Boat Lover
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
AR192
Boat Length
Hey guys this is my first year winterizing my Yamaha I live in the north east so any tips would be appreciated. Thanks

InmyElement

Jetboaters Captain
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
X
Boat Length

Rooster585

Jet Boat Lover
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
AR
Boat Length
Will-
I'm new to jet boating also, but have owned many outboards and inboards. It can get really cold here in North Texas. As far as water is concerned, my main take away is to blow compressed air in the water intake port (the one used to run the engines out of the water) to get any excess water out of the engine ports. Some folks say this is not even necessary and I would tend to agree. If a few ounces of water settles in the bottom of a cavity and then freezes it is no big deal since it has room to expand. The goal is to keep water from encompassing a cavity, then freezing and busting the casing, block....etc. However an after run when pulled out of the water for a few seconds accomplishes this. Blowing out using compressed air just gives an extra measure of security.