• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

First Gelcoat Repair (Picture heavy)

toddaltpeter

Jet Boat Addict
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
AR
Boat Length
I should start out by saying I have ZERO experience with body work, so this was a first for me. Special thanks to @tdonoughue, @YamaHog, and @mrcleanr6. Your posts about how to do this gave me the confidence to give it a try!!!

Had my first dock encounter. Long story which I will skip to avoid marital counseling.

1.jpg

Decided to give it a try to fix it myself.

#1 goal - Protect the boat
#2 goal - Look Pretty

ordered the Suede Grey Gel coat repair kit from Spectrum via their distributor iBoat . ($35)

Taped off the big spot and mixed applied the gel. I did not tape the scratch I jut applied the gel.

5.jpg

I did not tape the scratch I jut applied the gel.
7.jpg

I let it dry 4 hours. I then stated wet sanding. (Take your time here. Sand a little and check, then sand a little more)

I bought 3m wet sand paper and a sanding block at Walmart (Automotive section). 400, 800, 1000, 1500, and 2000 grit About ($20) in total

11.jpg

After sanding with 400 and 800, I was pretty sure I ruined my boat, but I was committed at this point. Use the 400 and 800 to sand the repair down to almost flush with the existing gelcoat.