• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Outboard Jet Mounting Question

Troutoholic

Reaction score
Boat Make
Other
Year
Boat Model
Other
Boat Length
I am new to Jetboating. I purchased a new 2019 Crestliner Retriever, Front Console, 1860 Tunnel with Mercury 80 Jet. Top speed has been about 28 mph. I have to run the jet with the trim fully in. Whenever I try to trim it out I get backsplash. I live in Des Moines, Iowa and run the boat in the rivers around Des Moines. spoke to my dealer however this was the first jet he has worked with so he does not have much experience. I feel like something is just not quite right. I am considering adding a jack plate to fine-tune the adjustment. I cannot find much on-line about the mounting with a tunnel hull. Should the intake be flush with the bottom of the boat or bottom of the tunnel?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions....

Last edited:

WestMIJet

Jet Boat Addict
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
Limited S
Boat Length