• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

252SD & surfing

nosterka

Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
252SD
Boat Length
Hey guys, anyone have some experience surfing behind the 252SD? I am considering getting a board but don’t want to waste the money if it’s not worth it. I am just a beginner so just really looking to learn, will probably have a ski and wakeboard as well, which I am sure the boat will be fine for. Should I consider ballast? Fatsac? Or will the wake be good enough to learn and develop skills for now?

thanks for any help

NewBoater

Jetboaters Captain
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
242X E-Series
Boat Length
You should be able to surf fine with a short wakesurf rope as long as you have a high tow point. If you want to go ropeless you will need lots of ballast and a wake shaper like a wake booster or gantlin wake wedge.

anmut

Jetboaters Admiral
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
212S
Boat Length