• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Decisions between 2016 212X or 2016 AR240 HO?

CBoehme

Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
AR
Boat Length
I'm new to jet boats and trying to figure out which model would be better for me to buy. 1st the cost is quite a key factor with the AR240 coming in at $48,750, with fees (freight & prep, regs) costing $655. The 212X is $45,999, with fees costing $2430... so price goes to AR240. The AR240 is a new redesign where it sound like the 212X will be redesigned for 2017. We are campers who will use this on inland lakes about 75% of the time, so I have a concern with the AR240 being too big. Some of the chain of lakes we are on have bridges to contend with... so that's a concern too. What are your thoughts or advice on this please?

Thanks,

Evil Sports

Jetboaters Admiral
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
SS
Boat Length
I have a 212ss and was considering going to the 24. Like you Im inland and on a shallow river. When I got into the 24 its a much bigger boat but the "extra" space it had over the 212 was primarily from the steering wheel forward. No real increase in the main seating area. I dont have a tower so I cant help there.

swatski

Jetboaters Fleet Admiral 1*
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
AR
Boat Length