• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Opto isolator OK to read action of injector?

Beachbummer

Jetboaters Admiral
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
SX
Boat Length
So I'm an early amateur of electrónics, but many years of professional software development....

I know there are several electronics experts on the board, I was hoping someone knows the feasibility of this...

If i place an opto isolator in parallel with a fuel injector, in order to examine and log that activity with a control board, such as an Arduino... Will the load placed by the Opto isolator on the circuit cause any changes in the fuel delivery on that injector?

Something like this?

I don't want to break anything, but it would be a very neat way to gather fuel usage information along with rpm.

Any thoughts?

Scottintexas

Jetboaters Admiral
Staff member
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
AR
Boat Length
if ever there was a post made for @Mainah

Mainah

Jetboaters Admiral
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
Limited S
Boat Length