• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Scarab tight against winch roller

Joatmon

Jet Boat Junkie
Reaction score
Boat Make
Scarab
Year
Boat Model
255 SE
Boat Length
Ok this is embarrassing because I have been boating for over 50 years, but I have an issue I do not understand.

My 255 25 footer is the largest and heaviest boat I have owned and I thought I knew how to put a boat on a trailer. No matter what I try I cannot get the bow to rest on the winch roller once pulled out of the water. When the boat is winched on the trailer the bow is tight against the roller, but the boat pulls back as I pull out of the water. The bow ends up three inches from resting on the roller. I have had the same issue on four different ramps with different angles and replaced the winch strap because I thought it was stretching. The boat is not sliding back on the bunks. I have tried putting the trailer further in the water and tried wetting the bunks and power driving to boat tight against the roller. Every time the bow is tight against the roller when in the water but then pulls away as I drive out of the water. I tried routing and tightening the strap above and below the roller.