• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Thinking of switching to Yamaha

caphilli

Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
AR
Boat Length
I've been thinking about picking up 2021 Yamaha AR190. I have no experience with jet boats but plenty of experience with boats. I grew up on a Chaparral 236 Sunesta and I currently have a Sea Ray 176.
I don't do a lot of water sports - just a little tubing/wakeboarding here and there. Some friends are interested in wakeboarding/surfing, but not to the point where we'd be hitting the lake every weekend to do those things. Mostly cruising, relaxing, enjoying the water.
Here are some of my questions/concerns.
1) Will the AR 190 have enough power to pull a wakeboarder with 4-5 people in the boat?
2) How do these handle in choppy water? I'm on Lake Allatoona in GA, and the weekends get pretty choppy. Will it be unmanageable/unenjoyable?
3) I've heard maintenance is pretty easy/reasonable. I'm pretty savvy (oil change/spark plugs/winterization) What's needed annually?
4) Due to the shortage, it's been tough to go for a test ride; What are some key differences from an I/O should I know before buying?
Thanks!

jdkaeser

Jet Boat Junkie
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
195S
Boat Length
1) Should be no problem.