• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Tricking out a 2008 SX230

Nick T

Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
Limited S
Boat Length
Hi all, I'm about to pull the trigger to buy a nice 2008 SX230 that's in good shape mechanically and aesthetically. I am new to owning a boat, and have 3 pretty young kids (8, 8, 10) so I think a jetboat is a good safer way to get started. I'm looking for advice about aftermarket must-haves or other suggestions for this boat?

It does have Cobra Jet Fins and dual batteries, but as far as I can tell that's all the mods he's done to the boat. I don't know how we'll use it yet but I suspect it's a mix of wakeboarding, waterskiing, casual boating, and tubing. My kids don't yet even waterski/wakeboard but I suspect that'll change, so I'm already thinking about an aftermarket wakeboard (maybe the Indy Liquid Pro: http://www.indywakeboardtowers.com/product/pro-tower/) which is inexpensive and seems well designed. The carpet is in great shape but at some point when it wears out I'll likely switch to SeaDek.

Any other suggestions of things I really ought to look at? The boat will only be used in a single lake in California, and will normally be on a boat lift when not in use.

thanks!

Gym

Jetboaters Admiral
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model