• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Video - Help me understand what is causing this?

W3bexec

Jet Boat Junkie
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
AR
Boat Length
Hopefully the experts here can help me understand this, I so appreciate this site! I'm new to jets and obviously new to troubleshooting this kind of stuff. Had the boat out yesterday and all was fine for most of the day until this started happening. I took this video of it specifically to post here as well as show the dealer if needed.

Gradually increasing the throttles up and all seems pretty normal until the port engine gets to 5K RPM. Then, just the port engine shoots up to 7-8K without any throttle applied. The quick throttle down at the end is me putting both levers in neutral. Here is the video of this:

I shutdown and checked the clean out ports. On the port I did find 2 very small twigs in there but nothing else. Afterward the problem still occurred. At that point decided to take her to the dock and wrap up the day. On the way, going about 4.5K RPM, the boat jolts a bit and I hear a clunk as see a quick bump up in port RPM, then goes back to normal. After that the issue of 5K racing up to WOT on port engine went away.