• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Yamaha 242 LS (2015) battery charging questions

Ben_242LS

Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
Limited S
Boat Length
I bought my first Yamaha this season and have a 2015 242 LS. While I’m not new to boating, I am brand new to Yamaha and seem the have more questions than answers at this point, but this forum has been great.

I see there is a lot of discussion about batteries and battery charging. I am having a lot of issues out of the gate with this and I’m trying to trouble shoot and find solutions so I can enjoy the boat without stress batteries dying.

One quick questions - what battery and what terminal should the black wire from the DVSR be connected to? Mine is currently on the negative terminal of the starter battery. I ask because I don’t seem to get any charging even at high RPMs.

Another question - I was told by a service tech that the boat will never be able to fully charge the house battery (or in my case batteries as I have 2) and that I would need to hard charge them after each use. Is that consistent with what you all experience?

As far as question one, a ground on any battery is fine. All grounds are connected to the same source, the block. So it doesn't matter.