• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Yamaha Jetboat Help Needed

Tianying Shi

Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
AR
Boat Length
Hello,

I am new to boating and I am considering to buy a 24 ft Yamaha jet boat. It will be used on the gulf of mexico in Sarasota, FL. Many people told me that Yamaha is a lake boat and I cannot use it on the Gulf. Then some other people told me to get a Yamaha center console. Aren't the center console boat share the same hull? I need some education here. Thanks.

Beachbummer

Jetboaters Admiral
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
SX
Boat Length
How far offshore do you want to use it? 3ft chop you need a big boat no matter what propulsion type.

Performance will be comparable to boats of similar size and weight. 26ft cat with twin engine will handle gulf better frequently.

Can you go out in good weather? Sure.

Patae

Jet Boat Lover
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
FSH Sport
Boat Length
We are in the gulf every weekend with our 190 fsh. Beachbummer is right on about the 3ft chop. Not sure how the 210 fsh takes the 3 footers but I assume a little better but not much We love ours out on the flats and some close reefs (waves permitting). I'm sure that if and when they come out with a 23-24' fsh that we will get one .