• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Sugar Sands Tango randomly dies or won't start

Stormcat918

Reaction score
Boat Make
Sugar Sand
Year
Boat Model
Other
Boat Length
Hello my fellow boaters!

I am new to the jet boat scene so please forgive me if this is a stupid question. I bought a 1998 Sugar Sand Tango Offshore a few months back. It has the merc 175 sportjet engine. I ran it out on the water 2 or 3 times without any issues (all speeds and rpms seemed normal). About a month ago, I drop it in the water, it fires right up, then about 2 minutes later it dies and wouldn't start back up. When I got home and started her up, I was able to replicate the same 2-3 minute running time before it died again. I put a bottle of sea foam in the tank and it fired right up and ran with no issues. The next weekend, I put it back in the water and ran through the whole tank of gas (with seafoam) without any issues. I didnt turn off then engine at all during this time. The next weekend I filled it up with a fresh tank of gas ran it about 15 miles and anchored at a sandbar for a couple hours. Went to start it back up and it wouldn't start so I had to get towed back to the dock. Once again, I dumped some seafoam in it and got it back to the 2-3 minutes of running state before she dies. Has anyone experienced