• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Thrust Problems - Yamaha 212

Dan2poole

Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
Boat Length
NA
Hi,

I am new to the game of boating and looking to buy my first jet boat.

I have found a 2011 yahama 212 with 500hours for a reasonable price.

Prior to testing, I had an dry inspection carried out by the local yahama dealer. They have advised that the engines are good and no faults on the computer.

Problem is.. I took it out for the first time and it doesn't seem to want to move when accelerating. Basically it feels like the boat is in limp mode.

Speaking to yamaha they have said it could be the cans or shaft and will come have a look next week.

Any advice or ideas would be greatly appreciated as I don't want to miss out on this boat if its not a major issue.

Thanks
Dan

Dan2poole

Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
Boat Length
NA
Are the cleanout plugs secured? If not then the boat will feel like it's spinning it's tires.
Hey, thanks for the quick response. I will head over to the yard tomorrow and check out the plugs. I assume it is easy to tell if these are secure and not cross threaded or something?

It was advised by the technician that this boat was only serviced 6 months ago, so hoping its a easy fix.

Thanks

Babin Farms