• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Winter Wind

DonJohnsMusic

Jet Boat Addict
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
AR195
Boat Length
As you know I’m new to boating and have so much to learn. Would love to hear from you experienced sea dogs. Does the Winter bring in more high winds verses Summer? This will be our 3rd weekend with wind gusts over 25 mph! We went out once and only once when the wind was over 20 miles per hour and it was not very pleasant. We have been really wanting to go out, but we know now the wind makes it a bit more challenging. I’m just wondering if it’s just a strange weather event right now or can I expect the entire Winter to be like this?
Your thoughts...

Damn. 20mph and you went out? I try not to go if 10mph. Careful out there! Specially if new to boating. What body of water are we talking about here?

The wind picks up a great deal during the winter in South Florida, not sure about your area but its likely the same.

Agree with above post....anything above 10mph winds and I stay at the dock. Winds above 10mph generates white cap waves (on my boating lake) that are no fun with my boat and sucks for any type of water sports.