• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Comparing scarab 285 to Yamaha 275sd for newbie

Gregvjr

Reaction score
Boat Make
Boatless
Year
Other
Boat Model
Other
Boat Length
Hello all! I’m new to boating and ownership, as we close on our first lake house next week. I’m looking for a 27-29 ft bow rider and came across the wonderful world of jet boats, and trying to determine the best boat for my family (10 yr old, two 8 yr olds). Our lake (Ozarks) is choppy and full of boats, so I’ve been advised that I need a larger boat to be comfortable. Our goal is a good family boat, some water sports if kids get into them aside from tubing, and general ‘putzing’ around coves and lakeside restaurants. Really like the lack of lower props in jet boats as it makes me nervous with the kiddos swimming aft,etc. Also my dock comes with a 6000 lb lift, so hoping to stay there weight wise. Can’t find any used 275sd’s yet so looking new. From reading various threads on this site seems like Yamaha has addressed the slow speed issues with the paddle system and scarabs issues were 4+ yrs ago. Pros and cons of either of these larger jet boats please. Thank you very much in advance!