• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Water in clean out port?

Dogsluvtrux

Reaction score
Boat Make
SeaRay
Year
Boat Model
Other
Boat Length
So complete newbie question here…Is there supposed to be water in the clean out port above the access plus?

We bought a 2021 SX190 and put it in last weekend. Couple of runs around the lake to get used to steering/handling struggled to get to 38mph with just me and 1/2 tank of fuel. It seemed like it was missing 5-10 mph on the top end. It was a little windy but not horrible, weather was coming in so I put it on the lift and went back to the farm for the week. This AM went out again, calm glassy water and 37-38 was top speed on both boat and phone GPS. Little bit of snooping around the site and it seemed like the first step was to open up the clean out port to see if something was trapped or wrapped around the shaft that might be causing cavitation and I was a little surprised to see the access port was completely filled with water…boat was out of the water, hanging in the lift.

Is that normal? It feels like that should be a tight seal to prevent it from sucking in air. Thanks in advance!

2kwik4u

Jetboaters Fleet Admiral
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
AR
Boat Length