• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Intermittent start issues on single engine only

FLJetBoater

Jet Boat Junkie
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
242 Limited S E-Series
Boat Length
How likely is it that a spark plug failure would cause an engine not to start? I’m not a mechanic but I would have thought that just that cylinder wouldn’t fire but the other 3 would? Seems strange that fairly new spark plugs would have multiple failures. Or I’m wrong and just 1 bad plug would cause this? Either way guess what’s going in the toolbox now….full set of spare plugs.

this came up tonight because my starboard engine wouldn’t start for our last leg home after being on the water all day. Limped back.

This is what it sounded like

pulled a liter of oil out and it was a bit dark but no water or anything in it.

changed spark plugs….here’s the old ones

62306A2C-5105-40BC-89D6-FFC4986DB3AA.jpeg

theyve only got MAYBE 10 hours on them I just changed them last week.

put new ones in and it fired right up.