• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Request for the guys towing with '14+ Durango's

scot71

Jetboaters Captain
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
SX
Boat Length
I've been keeping my eyes out for a 2014 or newer just for the 8spd. I'm not 100% certain my research is correct....however...I think the 6spd is a mopar transmission, and the 8spd is a ZF sourced unit. I've had many ZF transmissions with excellent performance and reliability. The Mopar transmissions, not so much. The ZF8HP in the 2014 and newer Durango's is a proven performer with excellent reliability.

I have no idea what transmission is in the V6 models.
Our V6 model has the ZF 8 speed, and it performs flawlessly.

Mainah

Jetboaters Admiral
Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
Limited S
Boat Length
Previous 5.7l citadel had the 6spd. Current R/T has the 8spd. I prefer the 8spd for daily driving. The 8 spd will shift a lot when towing a heavy load at 70+ mph. Not that it is bad just noticeable. I might be wearing my wife down into keeping the R/T. As much as she wants something different similar to how she likes to redecorate or change hair styles after test driving other vehicles she is seeing how much she likes what she has.

Kevin hughes

Reaction score
Boat Make
SeaDoo
Year
Boat Model
Challenger