• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Sudden loss of power/RPM

ReelFishingSWFL

Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
FSH Sport
Boat Length
Hello I’m new to jet boating I’ve owned many boats with outboards and I’m definitely having a hard time transitioning 😅 I purchased a 2017 Yamaha 190 FSH and I’m having a bitter sweet relationship with it after running into several problems. I’m now experiencing a new issue and I’m looking for some answers so please feel free to jump in I’ll update as I go on trouble shooting. I’ve been experiencing an issue where I turn on the ignition switch and the motor turns on and then turns off after 2 seconds.. I then turn the key again immediately after it turns off and it cranks right up again BUT with a rough idle that lingers for a while then goes away.. today it did it about 3 different times however it turned on no problem after the second key turn.. As I was making my way back to the dock I was making way full speed 37mph and suddenly the rpm’s dropped to 5500 RPM and the motor started to rough idle. I quickly turned off the motor and checked the clean out hatch and it was clean nothing that I could see or feel (I was going over some heavy sea grass earlier in n the day and I pulled out loads of junk) I tuned it back on but this time it would