• Welcome to Jetboaters.net!

We are delighted you have found your way to the best Jet Boaters Forum on the internet! Please consider Signing Up so that you can enjoy all the features and offers on the forum. We have members with boats from all the major manufacturers including Yamaha, Seadoo, Scarab and Chaparral. We don't email you SPAM, and the site is totally non-commercial. So what's to lose? IT IS FREE!

Membership allows you to ask questions (no matter how mundane), meet up with other jet boaters, see full images (not just thumbnails), browse the member map and qualifies you for members only discounts offered by vendors who run specials for our members only! (It also gets rid of this banner!)

free hit counter

Any thoughts on leaving the boat in the water?

machurch

Reaction score
Boat Make
Yamaha
Year
Boat Model
SX
Boat Length
I am brand new to Jet boating and need to know if there is a reason I should not leave it in the water (fresh) for any length of time. I've had stern drive boats and understand what happens to the hull but im unsure about the jet drives. My plan would be to pull it monthly and clean. I just bought a 2008 yamaha sx 232 limited...

Welcome Aboard @machurch.

Many leave their throttles in the reverse position to limit the ability for fish to swim into the jets.

I would thoroughly wax the hull or put some sort of protectant on it before each launch.

Many tire of cleaning the hull and buy a lift instead. But it sounds like you already have hull cleaning experience.

@Julian I know that you are experienced with leaving your boat in fresh water.

I've had mine in a freshwater wet slip for the past 4 seasons with no issues whatsoever, May to mid October. A good scrub at the end of the season and a fresh wax at the beginning is all it needs. Install a bilge pump with a float switch. Leaving the throttles in reverse is a good tip too.